Marchbooks' Blog

September 23, 2009

All is Good in the Land of Words

If you have been following, you have probably noticed the absence of any new gripes about the publishing industry. I suppose that is because we are basking in the afterglow of the publication of our first two novels.

The Little Insanity
and Nightsweats in Bigelow Hollow

Sure, sales could be brisker and there is certainly no abatement of entries on the publication ‘to do’ list. However, the first hurdle has been met and conquered. The books are beautiful (alright, I’m biased). They are a pleasure to look at and feel good in your hand. So far, we have only discovered one small blip, in The Little Insanity, that was missed by editing. I won’t tell you where, you can find it yourself – I challenge you, lol.

We have gotten some good reviews on Amazon and M.J. had her first book signing a week and a half ago. It went very well. Although she did not sell out, she made a respectable showing for a first time author and we were able to donate a healthy percentage back to the charity that hosted the event. It was a wonderful win-win for everyone involved.

Work still continues on the website. Our shopping cart is still having issues. There are still numerous review copies to be sent out and marketing to bookstores and libraries continues unabated. Promotional materials must be designed and updated. We continue to look for new opportunities for signings and we are plunging, with both feet, into the editing of our next two titles – both by M.J. Claire, ‘The Invisibles and Bigelow Hollow Revisited (if you didn’t guess, this is the second in the Bigelow Hollow series). And, of course, we occasionally find time to blog.

So, yes, we are not bored, but we are infinitely happy. Love what you do and you will never work a day in your life. I wish the same for all of you. Until next time.

www.marchbooks.com

BothCovers copysmaller

2 Comments »

  1. That sounds so awesome! Gotta love the flaw hunting… lol. I just had to call and let iUniverse know that when I sent that last revision in I had left one little word (“man”) highlighted. I highlight when I am a little unsure about something, and I was unsure of that one little word in the sentence. They told me that when it’s proofread they will fix it, but still I felt silly.
    I’m so glad all is going well! 🙂 This type of reading makes me smile. Good job and good luck!
    Sarah

    Comment by sarahwinters — September 24, 2009 @ 12:32 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks Sarah,

    I figured I couldn’t spend all of my time complaining about what wasn’t going right, lol. So, I took some time to talk about what is really going well. I hope that your editing is going well.

    talk to you soon,
    elizabeth

    Comment by marchbooks — September 24, 2009 @ 12:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

